Whitney

Whitney



Yesterday, my sister called to tell me Whitney Houston had passed away.  Immediately, I thought it was Twitter hoax.  “It’s been reported by the Associated Press,” she said. Then my dad called to ask me if I had heard the news.  Again, I thought it was a sick joke.  I went to the Associated Press’ website and read the story confirmed by Houston’s publicist. The first thoughts I had were, she was so young, how her daughter must be feeling, and how she had just filmed the movie Sparkle. She looked great. I had just seen photos of her on a gossip blog.

I don’t have  one particular memory. I just know Whitney Houston’s music has been a constant in my life.  I remember just her music playing on the radio. I remember last year in the car on the way back from my grandfather’s funeral Houston’s “I Didn’t Know My Own Strength” playing on the cd player and my mother singing her heart out. That particular song has so much meaning for me personally and you can tell in Houston’s voice that she too wants you realize that your stronger than you think and are resilient.

Whitney Houston RIP. You will live on through your music.  Thank you.

One thought on “Whitney

  1. OMG! Kismet. When I called my sister to tell her of Ms Houston’s passing, she thought I was joking too. You should listen to her; she seems to be wise and know what she’s talking about..

Leave a Reply

